Rio de Janeiro Vector Logo Download - AI

Free to download Rio de Janeiro logo vector in AI vector format. Browse to see more Rio de Janeiro related vector logos. Download Rio de Janeiro logo vector in AI format, and open with Adobe Illustrator or Adobe PhotoShop or CorelDRAW.

The contest to create the official logo for the Olympics was launched in April 2010. The selection was exhaustive with 139 agencies involved before eight finalists were chosen.

The emblem to be used by the 2016 Olympics was revealed late on December 31, 2010 at a ceremony in Rio de Janeiro, reportedly in front of two million people. The agency behind the final logo was Tátil from Rio de Janeiro. The emblem shows three figures in dance or embrace. One can also see an abstract silhouette of the Sugarloaf Mountain.

"The brand translates the Olympic spirit and the nature, feelings, and aspirations of the athletes, Rio and the cariocas. Different countries, athletes and peoples are joined in a warm embrace – in an individual and collective move, which at a second glance, reveals one of Rio’s most beautiful icons, a vibrant Sugar Loaf, radiating joy, unity, celebration, and friendship." - Rio 2016 news article

The agency worked both with several values they wanted the identity to communicate. They also looked at shapes in nature and around Rio for the design of the logo. The color scheme was taken from nature with yellow for the sun, blue for water and green for forests and hope. The Rio 2016 symbol is the first truly three-dimensional Olympic logo. It can take a three dimensional form both virtually as well as physically in the form of sculptures.


Uploaded on January 4, 2011
Last updated on January 4, 2011

International Olympic Committee

Select available file format to download Rio de Janeiro vector logo or Rio de Janeiro vector file.

Rio de Janeiro 2016 Summer Olympic Games AI downloadDownload255k

International Olympic Committee

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) is a corporation based in Lausanne, Switzerland, created by Pierre de Coubertin and Demetrios Vikelas on 23 June 1894. Its membership consists of the 205 National Olympic Committees.